Skilling Process

Skill development process includes three specific stages. The first stage of the skilling process is Training. The second stage is Assessment, and the last stage is Certification. 


Training is one of the fundamental elements of the skill development process. The training conducted by HCSSC can be segregated into three different segments.

Training of Trainees

The first and foremost segment is the training of trainees – these are the candidates aspiring to be trained in specific skills. These trainings are carried out by the various training partners affiliated to HCSSC. There are different programs under different crafts on which aspiring candidates can pursue trainings on. HCSSC primarily carries out two types of training programs – fresh training programs and RPL. In fresh trainings, candidates are trained from scratch in a given job role. On the other hand in RPL trainings, the candidates are meant to have prior knowledge on the job role and are just trained on additional requirements such as quality aspects.

Training of Trainers (TOT)

The trainers responsible to train the trainees must be knowledgeable and be equipped with skills to deliver training. They must be experts in their own subjects. The efficiency of the trainers would reflect the proficiency of the training they provide to the candidates in the specific skills. Therefore, HCSSC conducts training for trainers to train and guide the trainers to build their capacities to deliver training.

Training of Assessors (TOA)

Assessment is an indispensible process in regards to the skill development process. It is only through assessment that the quality of training and the trainees could be measured. Therefore, it is essential to assure the quality of assessment. With the purpose of providing a qualitative assessment, HCSSC conducts training for assessors at different times of the years. In these trainings the assessors are trained on the standards of assessment and its various criteria.


Proper assessment of the trainees is one of the most important parts of the skill development process. The quality of assessment would define the standard of the trained trainees. For that matter, HCSSC has affiliated assessment agencies to conduct the assessments as per the standards set by NSDC and HCSSC. The assessment agencies have assessors who assess the trainees on the set standards. In order to guide and assist the assessors, HCSSC conducts Training of Assessors (TOA) (for more information check the Training of Assessors section of the Training tab).

For more details check the sample question papers are given below:

Sample Question Bank- Bamboo Mat Weaver

Sample Question Bank- Carpet Weaver Knotted

Sample Question Bank- Engraving Artisan (Metal Handicrafts)

Sample Question Bank- Handloom Weaver Carpet


Certification is the final process of the skill development process. After the completion of training delivered by certified trainers at affiliated training centers, the trainees are assessed by certified assessors. These assessors evaluate the trainees on the basis of the various standards set by NSDC and HCSSC. On successfully completing the training and assessment, depending on the grades/marks obtained in the assessments, the trainees are certified. The certification process includes the grading of trainees with respect to the marks/grades earned in the evaluation procedure. Subsequently, the trainees are offered their certificates.